Skip to main content

The Monetary Policy Committee

The Monetary Policy Committee is responsible for defining monetary policy within WAMU, and its instruments, in line with the provisions of the Statutes.

The Monetary Policy Committee comprises :

  • The Governor of the Central Bank,
  • The Deputy Governors of the Central Bank,
  • One member nominated by each of the Governments of the member States of the Union and appointed by the Council of Ministers,
  • One member nominated by the State to ensure the convertibility of the common currency,
  • Four other members from WAMU member States, appointed intuitu personae by the Council of Ministers.